Suella Braverman to support Liz Truss after failing to make next stage in Tory leadership race

Suella Braverman will come out in support for Liz Truss after failing to make the next stage in the race to replace Boris Johnson

Published Last updated

Ms Braverman dropped out of the leadership race on Thursday after failing to earn enough votes in the second ballot.

It means the Tory leadership race has now been whittled down to the final five candidates.

Rishi Sunak, Liz Truss, Penny Mordaunt, Kemi Badenoch and Tom Tugendhat remain in the race, with Ms Braverman falling out.

Ms Badenoch got 49 votes, Ms Braverman 27, Ms Mordaunt 83, Mr Sunak 101, Ms Truss 64 and Mr Tugendhat 32.

Suella Braverman
Suella Braverman
Liz Truss has secured the support of Suella Braverman
Liz Truss has secured the support of Suella Braverman

Now she is no longer in the running, Ms Braverman will support Foreign Secretary Ms Truss for the leadership.

It should come as no surprise, given she told GB News earlier that Mr Sunak and Ms Mordaunt are both on the left of the Tory Party, adding that members have a right to a choice.

She also told GB News' Tom Harwood: "We ran a really clear policy platform on illegal migration, on Brexit delivery, on tax cuts and identity politics.

"And I have to say I’m just so blown away by the positive response that I got personally on my policy platform.

"I want to thank all of the MPs who voted for me for having faith in me, my team of MPs who worked incredibly hard, my staff team, the party, the 1922 Committee.

"I just feel a huge amount of gratitude and feel privileged to have just run to be Prime Minister of this country."

Mr Sunak and Ms Mordaunt maintain their places at the front of the race.

The remaining candidates will continue to face a series of votes among MPs, eliminating the last placed candidate in each round until a final two are left.

The remaining two will then face Conservative Party members at a series of hustings around the country over the summer, who will vote to select the new leader, and therefore Prime Minister.